The president is today’s head of state, but this leadership position under a democratic system emerged, in the Republic of China only in the early 20th century,
after the overthrow of imperial rule, this journey to democracy had its twists and turns.

In the 17 years from the ROC's founding to the end of the Northern Expedition, there were 13 to 20 heads of state, some were not officially called presidents, some had tenures as short as 10 to 20 days.

On this episode of Taiwan History, we present the dramatic history of the ROC presidency.

FTV Youtube - Taiwan History:
FTV Youtube - News:
FTV Youtube - Forum: